The Column Best in DFW Theater 2014

Val Kilmer Interview






exochi webdesign

Stage West 5th Annual Texas Playwriting Contest


Stage West is pleased to announce the results of the 5th Annual Texas Playwriting Contest. The thirty-six entries were narrowed down to a final five. Judging was 100% blind. All plays were submitted by April 15, 2011. Every playwright has a history of at least two years in the great state of Texas

The first place winner will receive a cash prize and a professional reading/workshop in February 2012 during Stage West's New Play Reading Festival. Dates for the festival are set for February 25 and 26, 2012. The Festival is free to Stage West Subscribers and $5 for general admission audience.

The second place play will also receive a reading/workshop during the festival.

First Place: Laura Lundgren⠀Smith, "Seamless,"Fort Worth, TX

Second Place: Stanton Nash, "The Ballad of Sad Young Men," Minnesota

Third Place: Barry Rowell, "Floydada," New York

Forth Place: Harold Smith, "Draper's Boarding House for Women," California

Fifth Place: Robert Bosquez, Jr., "Rare and Strange Creatures," Fort Worth, TX

Congratulations to these final Five and to all of the playwrights who submitted their work to the contest. Stage West will begin accepting submissions for the 6th Annual Texas Playwriting Contest in January 1, 2012. Deadline for submissions is April 15, 2012. Please check for more information after the New Year.